Narnia

Woke up to this dream world. Felt like a six year old again. If there had been snow when i was six. Which there wasn’t. Because it never snowed in England. But still!..

snow12

snow2

snow5

snow15

snow17

snow13

snow7

snow

snow6

This is also the first time outside with my new, very expensive, very scary full-frame DSLR. Trying to put rampant fears of condensation and water damage aside i took it for a little spin. In the snow. Because when is there a better time to stop molly-coddling your camera than a snow storm?! Especially when it’s coming with me to the Arctic Circle next month. Time to break it in, i guess. Overall, i’m sure my fears are largely unfounded and probably a result of me intensively over-reading the manual; something which i’ve never done before and probably never will again due to my great impatience. But i really wanted to understand how this big hunk-o-lovin’ worked. I still haven’t come to grips with how to get the best from it. I feel like i’m not doing it justice. But practice. And reading. And getting over my Photoshop fear. And one day i’ll actually produce a photo that looks how i imagined 😉

6 thoughts on “Narnia

  1. sprytely50

    That first photo truly evokes “…this dream world”.
    Great shot, you really have an eye! The others expand on that.
    When I first started taking winter pictures it was with 35mm (everything mechanical) and I always wore a oversized parka with the camera slung underneath. It also had two inside pockets (one for a lens the other smaller one for my light meter). Never had to have to have a camera “Winterized”. (Though I never got to the Arctic Circle with it…)

    1. lixxylu Post author

      Thanks for the kind comments! My first ever camera was a 35mm and I never worried about it getting damage from the elements, but then I was 13 and completely oblivious to everything! Just went around snapping off rolls of film. Would be great if they made some kind of warm rain coat to wrap today’s expensive equipment in 😉 I’ve heard of putting the camera in a zip-lock bag (very technical!) to try and stop condensation so I guess I’ll have to give that a try in future.

  2. derwandersmann

    Excellent work, Lu!

    Are the slight traces of colour your additions, or is that just the way your camera is reading the scenes?

    Don’t sweat the condensation. The camera has to be colder than the environment for anything to condense on or in it, and if it’s colder than that snow, it’ll start beeping or ringing or something to tell you that it’s too cold. That’s one of the first things I had to learn about didgies: they’re wimps about temperature. Just wear a big ol’ baggy coat and keep the cam inside, with you. Poke it out to take a picture. A pair of “glomitts” will make your life more pleasant, too.

    If it’s really raining, they make plastic “raincoats” for cameras; they fasten around the lens hood. They are a pain. A big ol’ plastic bag, rubber-banded around the lens hood and with the lens poking out, will do the job, but I’ve never needed one … these cameras can take a few drops of water without going all broody on you. Niagara Falls? That’s a little different. I don’t know how fashion-conscious you are, but an extremely helpful piece of apparel in a rainstorm is something like a cowboy hat, with a wide brim, made of a good-quality felt. It’s sort of like wearing your umbrella.

    Keep it up, and don’t be afraid of Photoshop … Just remember to save everything “As a copy”, and when it asks you if you want to make the changes on the original too, tell it NO. That way, you’ve still got what you started with.

    One routine you’ll find very handy is “Image=>Adjustments=>Auto levels” … sometimes it’ll do things for you that you’d have sweated over for an hour. Sometimes not, too; you can always go to “Edit=>Undo …” .

    If you need help with P’shop, just ask … I’m good with tilts and perspectives and stuff like that. I’m no colourist, but I’m learning my way, and lightening/darkening/contrast adjustments. There’s one thing that I always do … sharpen ONLY after you’re down to the size you want to show the picture at.

    1. lixxylu Post author

      thanks for the tips! I appreciate it.

      I think the colour differences are the White balance on the camera – it kept jumping around and I had trouble figuring it out. It’s more complex than my older camera 😉 Plus, I was too preoccupied worrying about the flakes of snow falling on the camera to fiddle with the controls for long. I will have to play around with the WB inside and see if I can figure out how to master it before going outside again.

      I figured condensation might happen more so when I come into the warm house from the cold outside. The lens got a little cloudy but nothing major. I might try the ziplock bag trick or I might just try and get over it and stop being such a baby! As you say, I’m sure it has some weather sealing. I’m just a worry wart!
      I carry it in a nice waterproof carry case when I’m out…the hat is a good idea though! That or I need to hire someone to walk around holding an umbrella over me 😉

      I also just downloaded Photoshop yesterday and had a look…. no clue what anything was haha! Again, I’m sure after I read about things it will seem less daunting. I did watch a video that came with it which recommended using layers to make adjustments so you didn’t ruin the original image. Now to just figure out how to make layers… 😉

      1. derwandersmann

        I’ve tried to learn layers, and have not had any success. Frustrating as hell. If you ask someone who does know, they give you a tiny bit of knowledge, and tell you it’s very simple. If you learn, tell me.

Comments are closed.